Damned Scribbling Woman

April 23, 2012

“All I need to make a comedy is a park, a policeman, and a pretty girl.” -Charlie Chaplin

Last week was such a bust that I was very thankful to be employed to sub on Friday (even though Friday was my holiday).  I subbed for a Reading Intervention teacher, which means small classes and easily teachable assignments.  Of course, the kiddos were *talking* about the significance of 420, but I knocked them down a rung by reminding them it was the 13th memorial of the Columbine massacre.  I was only dreading one class of 6th graders, and when no one was present two minutes after the class should have begun, I was feeling very lucky.  I found another teacher and she explained that the 6th graders were having a party in the cafeteria.  So I spent the dreaded hour happily painting faces rather than wrangling immature butt-faces.

I was supposed to end the day with my work-friend and dranks, but she has a lil’ one and we can rarely keep our after-work plans.  I called another friend, and we went for $2 tumblers of wine (happy hour indeed) and played a game of Scrabble on a patio.  I ended the evening early and came home to a disgusting Beatrice who needed a bath immediately.  I have $30 to get me gas and groceries before next Tuesday; so I was happy to be tipsy and full of fellowship by 6:30 pm.

Saturday was reserved for a birthday in the park and Record Store Day.  I met some friends and we rode bikes to Cheesman Park where we met my Martha Plimpton lookalike for his Dirty 30.  We drank, smoked, played Smalley Ball and Beerminton, and enjoyed the sun.  Then, a few of us hopped on our bikes and headed to a record store where I found a best of the Beach Boys vinyl for $3.

Next, we got stoop-id by hanging on a friend’s porch ’til it got dark.  Now, these “friends” are quickly becoming my not-so-favorite people because they’re “drunk” after 2 drinks and either fighting or making out.  Annoying!

But, they live 4 blocks away and have dogs and a porch.  So………….

***

My new favorite things:
The League!
-Have you seen this show?  Super testosterone-driven but truly witty and fun.
1st PLACE!
-Again, I led my trivia team to a first place victory and 25 bar dollars.
Bananas?!
-I now know how to efficiently peel a banana like a primate.  I feel so smart every time I do it.
2 meals in 1!
-One day last week, I made too much quinoa and ground turkey mixture for the 2 tiny bell peppers I planned to stuff, cook, and freeze; so on Saturday morning, I scrambled up some eggs and added them to the quinoa mixture with a little low-fat cheese, avocado, and Louisiana hot sauce.  It was breakfast magic!
SKYPE!
-I know I’ve mentioned it before, but Skype is a god-send!  Austin and I were inspired by a recent ep of Happy Endings to have a Skype-table at his birthday party.  It was a huge hit!  It was so awesome to see all of my friemly!  I just wish I could have enjoyed all of the delicious-looking food!!!

Whit

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.